Selinsgrove Seals Football
Aubrey Alexander Toyota Blaise Alexander Ford Selinsgrove Ford

Troy's Wright named NTL Large School Player of the Year.


By: The Review | Towanda Daily Review | December 16, 2013


Troy's Jed Wright was named the NTL Large School Player of the Year by the coaches.

Wellsboro's Michael Pietropola was named the Offensive Player of the Year while Troy's Nick Stephani earned Defensive Player of the Year honors.

The Co-Linemen of the Year are Troy's Dylan Brennan and Towanda's Nick Place while the Co-Coaches of the Year are Troy's Jim Smith and Wellsboro's Matt Hildebrand.

The First Team quarterback is Wright while the Wyalusing's Dylan Otis is the fullback. The two running backs are Troy's Diante Jones and Wyalusing's Luke Jennings.

Troy's Walker West is the First Team tight end, Wellsboro's Brandon Owlett is the versatility pick while the two wide receivers are Wellsboro's Kieron Smethers and Dylan Prough.

Brennan is the First Team center, Towanda's Jeremy Sheets and North Penn's Isaiah Compton are the guards and Troy's Caelen Taylor and Towanda's Logan Terry are the tackles.

The two First Team kickers are Athens' Troy Stivason and Troy's Josh MacClaren.

Pietropola is the Second Team quarterback while Towanda's Dan Leljedal is the full back. The two running backs are Wellsboro's Jermain Brooks and North Penn's Bryce Zaparzynski. Towanda's Tyler Vanderpool is the tight end while fellow Knight Tony Daniello is the versatility selection.

The two wide receivers are North Penn's Dayton Wood and Towanda's Noah Wheeler.

The center is Place, the guards are Troy's Kyle Schucker and Wellsboro's Owen Covert and the tackles are North Penn's Zack Andrews, Wellsboro's Blake Gamble and Wyalusing's Dustin Voda.

Wellsboro's Jack Chambers is the Second Team kicker.

For honorable mention at quarterback is Towanda's Noah Huff and North Penn's Bo Burleigh, at fullback Troy's Ben Sherman, Wellsboro's Wyatt Covert and Athens' Tyler Forbes and at running back Troy's Ross Sherman and Athens' Brandon Sturzenegger.

The two tight ends are Athens' Colton Roan and North Penn's Luke Kelly, the versatility selection is Troy's Brandon Mattocks and the two wide receivers are Athens' Troy Stivason and Troy's Ryan Reeves.

On the offensive line, the two centers are North Penn's Eli Compton and Wellsboro's Brian Doty, the guards are Troy's Dakoda Kelley and Athens' Adam Felt and the tackles are Troy's Brock Schucker and Towanda's Jimmy Tice.

The kicker is Towanda's Tyler Basse.

On the defensive end the First Team tackles are Place, Troy's Levi Smith and Wellsboro's Michael Brostrom while the ends are Towanda's Garrett Mosier and West.

The inside linebackers are Towanda's Dakoatah Manning and Troy's Kyle Schucker while the outside linebackers are Wellsboro's Wyatt Covert and Stephani.

Towanda's Dayton Wickwire is the First Team strong safety while fellow Knight Tony Daniello is the free safety. The two corner backs are Troy's Brandon Mattocks and Stivason who is also the punter.

The Second Team defensive tackles are Voda, Sheets and North Penn's Ryan Turner while the ends are Prough and Smethers.

The inside linebackers are Otis and Wellsboro's Brian Doty while the outside linebackers are Athens' Zane Vargason and North Penn's Brad Pequignot.

The two strong safeties on Second Team are Brooks and Troy's Isaac Havens while Wright is the free safety. The two cornerbacks are Huff and Wellsboro's Nick Marple while Vanderpool is the punter.

The honorable mention tackles are Athens' Ted Greene and Taylor, the ends are North Penn's Kaynen Arredondo, Wyalusing's Joel Shoemaker and Towanda's Jimmy Tice, the inside linebackers are North Penn's Noah Corwin and Wyalusing's Jerely Allyn, the outside linebackers are MacClaren and Towanda's Dylan Bates, the strong safeties are Athens' Stag Shadduck and North Penn's Levi Christman, the three free safeties are Wood, Owlett and Forbes while the cornerback is Zaparzynski. The two punters are Jennings and MacClaren.